Fried Egg Sandwich with an Avocado Spread and Spinach

It was a lazy, lazy day and a hot one to boot. It was lunch time and I hadn’t even looked in the direction of the kitchen. But we were hungry and still recovering from the festivities of the night before. So obviously, lunch which today would technically be breakfast, would have to be minimum effort and light on the stomach. What better than a fresh tangy sandwich? I thought about using the hunk of roast beef in the fridge for a beef, onion and mango salsa bruschetta. Hitesh jumped at the idea but I’m not much into red meat so I went ‘Naah!’ I thought of a tuna, dill and pineapple salad but this is where Hitesh went ‘Naah!’ The other option was a Grilled Caprese sandwich but the buffalo mozzarella looked like it had succumbed to the heat so I was back to square one.

Still lazing around, I wasn’t about to get up and make separate meals for the two of us. My brain was like molasses and all I could think of was eggs. Eggs! Something we both gladly eat. Mentally foraging through the fridge, I figured out what else I could use and this recipe came to me. My growling stomach made sure I got right to it and I just made it up as I went along. This sandwich surprised me as it turned out to be just the bite we both wanted. Light enough for a late lunch leaving just the right space for one hunky slice of Hitesh’s moist, insanely good banana bread and a strong steaming cup of joe. Yummm… 

 fried egg avocado spinach 2

Recipe: Fried Egg Sandwich with an Avocado Spread and Spinach

Ingredients

1 egg per sandwich

Toasted bread

1 ripe avocado, mashed

1 small onion, finely chopped

2 tbsp red bell pepper, finely chopped

1 tbsp fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 cup spinach, roughly chopped

1tsp garlic, minced

Black pepper and salt for seasoning

Method

  1. Mash the avocado and add the onion, red bell pepper, coriander, lemon juice, black pepper and salt and refrigerate.
  2. In a pan, heat oil and add the minced garlic. When it turns aromatic and golden, add the spinach and stir fry on high heat till just wilted. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Cook the eggs sunny side up till the white has set but the yolk is still runny and creamy.
  4. Apply the avocado spread on toasted bread and layer the spinach on it. Place the egg on the spinach and top up with another slice of toasted bread or leave it as an open sandwich.
2 thoughts on “Fried Egg Sandwich with an Avocado Spread and Spinach

Leave a Reply

