Beetroot Salad in Lemon Mustard Dressing

Beets are something I’ve made friends with only recently. I’ve never really bothered with them. They used to be thick slices of red stuff I had to pull out of my Bombay sandwich made by my absolute favourite sandwich wallah at Opera House in Bombay. Until they saved me from starvation one evening at a friend’s potluck dinner in Goa…

We are a growing community of people from various places around the world who have chosen to make Goa their home. Some have just moved in and some have been here for more than 20 years. But it’s a small world and we all connect eventually at some local bar or a common friends place…Introducing the newbies to the veteran Goaphiles is the thing to do and most times these susegad brunches or casual dinners are potluck events, allowing the host to relax and enjoy the parts as much as the guests.

One such evening, the guests hopelessly outnumbered the potluck that was brought and I was starvinggg! There was some roast beef and pork vindaloo left but that was at the sad, sad time I did not eat red meat. Oh, what a waste! I’m glad I learnt better. Even the chicken sausage pasta in smokey arrabiata sauce that I carried was wiped clean. And then came an angel. Very late into the party, but there she was… a beet salad carrying angel. Starving though I was, I was reluctant to dig into this mere acquaintance of a vegetable but seeing as that was my only option…

Hallelujah! That bite was a symphony in my mouth. It hit all the right notes. The beets were creamy, the walnuts were crunchy, the dill was fragrant and the yoghurt and mustard dressing had the perfect zing. I’m glad I didn’t be the hungry glutton I was reduced to that merry evening and wallop the salad and instead I slowly savoured the divine salad bit by bit…

Many a potluck has gone by since then and I have always look forward to the many imaginative versions of the beet salad that my friend comes up with, each better than the last. Beets and me? Huh, who’dve thunk it?

 

 

Beetroot Salad in Lemon Mustard Dressing

 

Ingredients

2 larege beetroots, boiled, peeled, diced

1 tbsp wholegrain mustard, soaked and ground

½ tsp garlic paste

2 tbsp Fresh parsley

Handful toasted sunflower seeds/ sesame seeds/ pine nuts

1 tbsp Extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp Lemon juice

¼ tsp white pepper

Salt

 

Method

  1. Boil, peel and dice the beetroot and refrigerate.
  2. Combine the mustard, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, pepper and salt.
  3. Adjust the quantity of each ingredient as you like. Mix thoroughly with a whisk and refrigerate.
  4. Add the parsley and sunflower seeds to the beet and toss.
  5. Whisk the dressing to a creamy consistency before drizzling onto the beets. Serve chilled.
Leave a Reply

